May 1 Deadline for Front Page Awards Competition Entries

“May Day! May Day!”

No, it’s not a call for emergency aid. It’s a call for you to submit your entries to the Washington-Baltimore Newspaper Guild’s Front Page Awards competition. And May Day is the deadline.

The Front Page Awards honor the “best of the best” in writing, photography, commentary, graphics and union campaigns, all created by workers in WBNG-covered units in calendar-year 2015. Former workers can enter, too. The point is if you created your work and it was published or posted on your employer’s web site, or both, it’s eligible for an award – and so are you.


The entry deadline is easy to remember: Postmarked or hand-delivered to the WBNG office, 1225 Eye Street NW, Suite 300, Washington DC 20005, by MAY DAY. The handy, printable entry form should be attached to each entry. Please specify the category in which your entry is being submitted, and please provide two copies of each entry. An entry can be submitted in more than one category.

This year, we’re trying to move into the electronic media age, with more awards in those categories and fewer in writing and photography.

Here are the categories:

WRITING: Morton Mintz Award for Investigative Reporting or Public Service Reporting; Bernie Harrison Memorial Award for Commentary; News Analysis; Frank C. Porter Memorial Award for Labor and Business Reporting; Criticism; Feature Writing; National or International News Reporting; Local News Reporting; Non-Daily Specialized Technical Reporting; Sports Reporting; Labor Unit Publication.

PHOTOGRAPHY: Feature Photography; Local News Photography; National News Photography; Sports Photography; Best Videography.

GRAPHICS AND ART: Advertising Design; Illustration Design; Labor Promotional Campaign; Marketing and Promotion Design.

SOCIAL MEDIA: Best Use of Social Media, Best Social Media Campaign, Most Informative Blog (fewer than 250 words), Most Informative Blog (More than 250 words), Best Web Site Design, Best Web Site User Experience, Most Creative Web Graphic.

There are two separate non-editorial Front Page Awards, one for Mobilizing and the other for the Customer Service Professional of the Year. Send in nominations for those by letter.

There are also three Grand Prizes, for which there are no separate entries: The Bill Pryor Memorial Grand Prize for Writing, the Bill Pryor Memorial Grand Prize for Photography and the John Albano Memorial Grand Prize for Art. The judges will select individual Grand Prize winners from among the winners of the individual Front Page Award categories.

A cash award will accompany the Grand Prizes. But there is an extra qualification to be in the running for a Grand Prize: You not only have to be among the individual winners to be eligible for those, you must also be a dues-paying WBNG member (hint, hint).

The Front Page ceremony will also honor members who performed distinguished and outstanding service for the Washington-Baltimore Newspaper Guild during 2015, through our annual Guild Service Awards. Letters of recommendation should be submitted by May Day.

The Guild Service Awards are as follows: Dan de Souza Memorial Award for  Member of the Year; Nadine Grinder Memorial Award for  Shop Steward of the Year; Unit Officer of the Year; Organizer of the Year; Bargaining Unit of the Year; Herb Block Award for  Community Service; and the Connie Knox Memorial Award for Outstanding Service to the Washington-Baltimore Newspaper Guild.

WBNG created that last award in honor of the long-time WBNG President and International Chair of The Newspaper Guild. Connie Knox died in 2012, just weeks after she retired from both her Guild post and theBaltimore Sun.

The Front Page Awards and Guild Service Awards will be formally presented to the winners at the WBNG Membership meeting in July.